Driving is a responsibility that must be taken seriously, and in the state of New Jersey there are many laws and guidelines that have been established for the purpose of keeping motorists safe. Violating these laws generally results in a traffic ticket, which is accompanied by a fine and which in some cases require a court appearance. Different violations carry different penalties, including points which can accumulate and have an impact on your ability to retain your driver’s license in the face of repeated offenses. As few as six accumulated points can result in your driver’s license being placed on a probationary status, and when you have accumulated twelve points you can lose your license entirely.
This situation can quickly become critical, as depending upon the situation a New Jersey State trooper can issue several tickets at once. Knowing the laws and making sure that citations are properly addressed is crucial, as in many cases the payment of a fine may also add points to your driving record, thus leading to increased drivers’ insurance and harsher penalties for future violations. Some of the traffic violations that can lead to these serious consequences include:
- Exceeding the speed limit
- Driving too closely behind another vehicle (tailgating)
- Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) or Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
- Reckless Driving
- Refusal/Failure to submit to a breathalyzer test
- Careless Driving
- Using a handheld cell phone or texting while driving
- Driving without proper insurance
- Passing a stopped school bus
- Leaving the scene of an accident
The New Jersey point system is standardized. Below you will find the points imposed for different violations:
- Most traffic violations are given two points. For speeding, two points are assessed for exceeding the speed limit by between one and 14 mph. Additional examples include failure to yield to a pedestrian in a crosswalk, failure to obey traffic signals, driving the wrong way on a one-way street, going through a red light, and moving violations out of state. There are many others.
- Three point violations include making an improper turn at a traffic light, improper right or left turns and U-turns, and many others.
- Four-point violations are represented by speeding between 15 and 29 mph over the speed limit, improper passing, improper passing of an ice cream truck and many others.
- For speeding violations of 30 mph over the speed limit, five points are assessed. The penalty is the same for reckless driving, racing on the highway, tailgating, and many others.
- If you leave the scene of an accident in which a person is injured, there is an assignment of eight points.
Failure to pay a fine or appear in court in the face of a traffic violation can result in the issuance of a warrant for your arrest.
In order to ensure that your rights are protected and that you are provided with good legal advice, it is smart to consult with an attorney that is knowledgeable and experienced in New Jersey traffic laws.